The logo of the Melammu Project

The Melammu Project

The Heritage of Mesopotamia and the Ancient Near East

  The Melammu Project
   General description
   Search string
   Browse by topic
   Search keyword
   Submit entry
   Open search
   Thematic search
   Digital Library
   Submit item
   Ancient texts
   Submit link
  Contact us

  The Newsletter
  To Project Information >


The Babylonian king list according to Synkellos (1)

Printable view
Topics (move over topic to see place in topic list)

12 Assyrian Identity

05 Scientific knowledge and scholarly lore

9th century CE
Byzantine Empire
Byzantine philosophers and scholars

Synkellos, Chronographia 101-102:
In AM 2776, the Chaldeans first designated kings for themselves.
The first of these kings, Euechios (we know him as Nimrod), was king of Babylon for 6 2/3 years.
The second king of Chaldeans was Chosmasbelos, who ruled for 7½ years, AM 2782
The third king of the Chaldeans was Poros, 35 years, AM 2790
The fourth king of the Chaldeans was Nechoubes, 43 years, AM 2825
The fifth king of the Chaldeans was Nabios, 48 years, AM 2868
The sixth king of the Chaldeans was Oniballos, 40 years, AM 2916
The seventh king of the Chaldeans was Zinzeros, 45 years, AM 2956
Up to him, the rule of the seven Chaldean kings extended 225 years after the dispersion, from AM 2776 up to 3000. From AM 3001, Arabs succeeded to the Chaldean throne, six kings ruling for 215 years up until AM 3215.

Source (list of abbreviations)
Synkellos, Chronographia 101-102


Adler and Tuffin 2002, 126-127Adler, W. and P. Tuffin. The Chronography of George Synkellos. A Byzantine Chronicle of Universal History from the Creation translated with introduction and notes. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2002.

Amar Annus

URL for this entry:

No pictures