The logo of the Melammu Project

The Melammu Project

The Heritage of Mesopotamia and the Ancient Near East

   General description
   Name and logo
   Minutes of Meetings
   Earlier Symposia
   MS 14: Los Angeles, 2020
   MS 15: Graz, 2022
   MS 16: Berlin, 2023
   Future Symposia
   Earlier Workshops
   MW 18: Gdańsk, 2023
   MW 19: Innsbruck, 2023
   MW 20: Innsbruck, 2024
   Future Workshops
   Introduction to MS1
   Melammu Manual (1999)
   Association (2001-2013)
  Contact us

  The Newsletter
  To Resources >


The Melammu Project

The Heritage of Mesopotamia and the Ancient Near East

The Melammu Project board consists of scholars from a wide variety of disciplines related to the project's focus. The main function of the board members is to promote the project and its meetings in the academic community and to safeguard the continuity of the project. For that reason, although the exact board size can vary, the board always consists of equally sized groups of senior and junior scholars (loosely defined). These include the organizers of future events, proceedings and website editors, and others. The board is always elected for two years at one of the Melammu Symposia; the last election took place in 2017, at Melammu Symposia 11 in Beirut.

Current Board (2017-)

Senior Scholars

Simonetta Ponchia (Chair)
University of Verona
Robert Rollinger (MS 12)
University of Innsbruck
Martin Lang (MS 12)
University of Innsbruck
Krzysztof Nawotka (MS 13)
University of Wrocław
Rahim Shayegan (MS 14)
University of California, Los Angeles
Johannes Haubold (Editorial Board)
Princeton University
Raija Mattila (MS 11)
Finnish Institute in the Middle East
Martti Nissinen (Workshop at MS 12)
University of Helsinki
Beate Pongratz-Leisten (Editorial Board)
New York University
Rocío Da Riva (MW 3)
University of Barcelona
Ann Gunter (Editorial Board)
Northwestern University
Klaus Geus (Future MW)
Freie Universität Berlin
Gonzalio Rubio (Future Event)
Pennsylvania State University
Christoph Schäfer (MW 2019 on Maritime Trade)
University of Trier
Paola Coro
University of Venice
Mait Kõiv (MW 2019)
University of Tartu

Junior Scholars

Sebastian Fink (Vice-Chair)
University of Innsbruck
Stéphanie Anthonioz (Proceedings MW 1)
University of Lille
Sanae Ito
University of Helsinki/University of Leiden
Kerstin Droß-Krüpe (Proceedings MS 10)
University of Kassel
Jakub Kuciak (Future MW)
University of Kraków
Khodadad Rezakhani
Princeton University
Simone Oppen (Language Revision)
Columbia University
Claudia Horst
University of Munich
Patrick Reinard (MW 2019 on Maritime Trade)
University of Trier
Selim Adali (Future MW)
Ankara Sosyal Bilimler University
Cinzia Pappi (MS 12)
University of Innsbruck
Sven Günther (MW 2018)
Northeast Normal University, Changchun
Luigi Turri (Hompage)
University of Verona
Julian Degen (Hompage, MS 12)
University of Innsbruck
Aurélie Paci (Future Event)
Pantheon-Sorbonne University (Paris 1)
Peeter Espak (MW 2019)
University of Tartu

Advisory Board

Tzvi Abusch
Brandeis University
Giovanni-Battista Lanfranchi
University of Padua
Simo Parpola
University of Helsinki
Kurt Raaflaub
Brown University
Josef Wiesehöfer
University of Kiel